News Flash

Citywide News

Posted on: September 6, 2018

Official recount confirms Alex Garza as winner in Democratic primary

An official recount of the absentee votes in the City of Taylor’s August 7 Primary Election for the Democratic Party candidate in the 12th District State Representative’s race confirmed Alex Garza as the winner, with totals very similar to what had been previously reported. The recount was held on Tuesday, September 4, at Taylor Fire Department Station No. 1.

A recount of the Primary Election absentee ballots was requested by Alexandria Taylor, who finished second in the race by approximately 1,000 total votes. She claimed that the Clerk’s Office in the City of Taylor did not calculate all of the absentee ballots correctly. The recount affirmed that all ballots were tabulated properly. There were a few minor vote changes.

Garza ended up with 1,526 absentee votes in the City of Taylor. Alexandria Taylor had 430, Lauretha Shelton 91 and Tomeka Boles 77. Through the recount, Garza’s vote total increased by nine, Taylor’s by three and Boles by two. Shelton’s tally did not change.

“I completely believe in a candidate’s right to file for a recount,” City Clerk Cindy Bower said. “I also stand behind the absentee voting process. I take every aspect of elections with the utmost seriousness, one of them being the responsibility of processing absentee ballots. Each ballot is handled as delicately as possible to adhere to a voter’s privacy. I believe my staff and I go above and beyond to ensure that ballots are processed according to Michigan Election Laws. In my opinion there is nothing more sacred than a voter’s right to a fair and just election process.”

Garza is the chairman of the Taylor City Council and is serving in his second term. He now advances to the November General Election, scheduled on November 6.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Citywide News


Baby cows get their names: Gloria and Gus!

Posted on: February 27, 2019

Angela Winton appointed to City Council

Posted on: February 6, 2019
2017 JLWS Champion

Host team being added to 2018 JLWS

Posted on: February 13, 2018